The New England Society Book Awards are designed to recognize books that honor New England culture and to help expand the audience for these books. The awards are presented by the New England Society in the City of New York (NES), one of the oldest social, charitable and cultural organizations in the United States. To qualify for consideration for the NES Book Awards, nominated titles must be about New England or set in New England.

The New England Society Book Awards are presented annually to the authors of books published the previous year. Books are nominated by the publishers and there are four categories for nominations: Fiction, Nonfiction, Art & Photography and Specialty Title. The Awards Program is highlighted with June events in New York City attended by the winning authors – an evening Literary Salon followed by an Awards Luncheon – that bring the authors together with appreciative audiences. In addition, award recipients receive a certificate and the right to use an award seal that can be placed or printed on the book for increased visibility.

Complete Rules and Information Here (PDF)

2019 Program Timeline

  • Fall 2018: Nominations accepted.
    Publishers, please note: You will be asked to log in. If you have submitted before, enter your email address and select Reset Password. Otherwise, select New Customer to create your account.

  • December 1, 2018: Submission deadline.

  • April 2019: Finalists announced. Click here for the official 2019 Book Awards finalist press release.

  • May 15, 2019: Winners announced.

  • June 26, 2019: NES Book Awards Winners Salon and Dinner